ERC - Driving European Club Rugby Competition

Amlin Challenge Cup
Heineken Cup
Cardiff 2014
Heineken Cup | The Epic Journey

The Epic Journey

ERC - ENG - Main Site - 2013 - Heineken - Gallery - Rotating - Style B - Season 2006-07

Season 2006-07

The 12th Heineken Cup final at Twickenham Stadium featured the first 'all-England' match-up as London Wasps and Leicester Tigers battled through to the 79th game of the season. It was a contest not to be missed attracting a world club record crowd of 81,076 as well as a massive TV audience as it was beamed to more than 100 countries.

LONDON WASPS became only the third club to win the Heineken Cup twice as they defied their underdog status to beat the former double winners 25-9 on Sunday, 20 May, 2007. Two sucker-punch tries from quickly taken line-out ploys rocked Leicester as scrum half Eoin Reddan and hooker Raphael Ibanez caught the Tigers napping. Ibanez became the first front five forward to score a Heineken Cup final try.

Wasps' renowned defence, with centre and Man of the Match, Fraser Waters, prominent, kept the Tigers at bay to allow Lawrence Dallaglio to join Martin Johnson and Fabien Pelous as a two-time winning captain.

Wasps-recovered from a Round 2 defeat at Perpignan to top Pool 1 and then produced a stunning display at home to knock out Leinster in the quarter-finals before ending Northampton Saints' hopes at the semi-final stage at the new tournament venue of the Ricoh Arena in Coventry.

Llanelli Scarlets and Biarritz Olympique both came through the pool stage with six from six but failed to go the distance. Northampton Saints pulled off a sensational giant-killing act against Biarritz in San Sebastien and the Scarlets went out to Leicester Tigers in the semi-finals.

The Tigers had to take the hard road to reach their fourth final, recovering from a Round 1 defeat by reigning champions Munster to win their pool. Everything hung on their return visit to Thomond Park in Round 6 when they not only ended Munster's record run of 13 unbeaten matches, but also became the first club in 26 games to win a European tie at Thomond Park.

ERC TV | The Final
Most Tries
ToulouseClément Poitrenaud7
Most Points
Leicester TigersAndy Goode89
Pool Tables | Heineken Cup
2006-2007 - Heineken Cup
How the Final was won
© 2017 Content © ERC, Statistical data © ERC Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM